Oram Awards Logo final small.jpg

In partnership with The New Radiophonic Workshop & PRS Foundation, The Oram Awards is a platform for innovation in sound, music and related technologies to elevate the work and voices of women, girls and gender minority music creators in electronic music. 

Named after Daphne Oram, one of the founding members of the original BBC Radiophonic Workshop, the awards aim to build on her legacy. Along with other women of the workshop, including Delia Derbyshire, Glynis Jones, Jenyth Worsley, Maddalena Fagandini and Elizabeth Parker, Oram played a vital role in establishing women at the forefront of innovation in newly-emerging audio technologies not only in the UK but around the world.

**Applications for the 5th annual Oram Awards for innovation in sound, music and related technologies are now closed. The 2021 winners will be announced on 1st November 2021**

Any individual music creator, or their representative who meets the criteria can now apply.
Others are encouraged to share this opportunity with those that they think are deserving of recognition.

There is only one category: innovation in sound, music and associated technologies.

Music and sound creators will need to meet the following criteria: 

  • are based in the United Kingdom;

  • create high quality original new music and sound;

  • innovate in sound, music and associated technologies;

  • through their work have demonstrated that they are deserving of increased recognition;

  • are ready for this opportunity and will use the PRS Foundation bursary for future creative and professional development. 

The Awards

  • 2 of the winners will receive special commendations and development bursaries of £1,500

  • 4 winners receive development bursaries of £500 from PRS Foundation.

  • All 6 winners will have access to The Oram Awards Mentoring Program 

PRS Foundation retains the right not to invite submissions from nominees who are already receiving significant funding from another PRS Foundation programme such as the PPL Momentum Fund, The Composers’ Fund or New Music Biennial.

The Oram Awards Alumni 2017 - 2021


Magz Hall, Vivienne Griffin, Lia Mice, Lou Barnell, Maria Sappho, Venus Ex Machina.

Online awards event in partnership with Brimingham based experimental festival Supersonic


Loula Yorke, Nicole Raymond (NikNak), Poulomi Desai, Una Lee, Vicky Clarke & Yifeat Ziv. Due to Covid the live ceremony was replaced with an evening of exclusive sets on SonitusLIVE/Twitch digital platform. 


Nwando Ebizie, Ain Bailey, CHAINES, Natalie Sharp, Steph Horak and Andie Brown with a  presentation ceremony at Kings Place, London as part of Venus Unwrapped Festival. 


Georgia Rodgers, Loraine James, Francine Perry, Hannah Jones and Aja Ireland with the presentation ceremony taking place at BlueDot Festival at Jodrell Bank Telescope, Cheshire.


Ewa Justka, Klein, Claire M Singer, Elvin Brandhi, Kathy Hinde, Mary Stark, Sally Golding and Shelly Knots picking up awards at the inaugural event at Turner Contemporary, Margate.